2016 Broyles Award nominees

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Wednesday November 23, 2016

The Broyles Award has released its nominees for the nation’s top assistant coach.

In total, 40 coaches have been nominated. Head coaches can submit one potential nominee from their staff. Five finalists will be named next Monday, and the winner will be announced at the banquet at the Little Rock Marriott on Dec. 6. The award was established in 1996.

Oklahoma offensive coordinator Lincoln Riley won the award last season. Since the award’s inception in 1996, more than 20 percent of finalists have become head coaches, including six of the past eight winners (Kirby Smart, Kevin Wilson, Gus Malzahn, Bob Diaco, Pat Narduzzi and Tom Herman).

Yesterday, we listed our leaders for the award. Nine of our 12 picks became nominees. Here are this year’s nominees:

Alabama - Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Arkansas State - Joe Cauthen, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Army - Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator

Auburn - Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator

Boise State - Scott Huff, Co-Offensive Coordinator

BYU - Ed Lamb, Special Team Coordinator/Safeties

Clemson - Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Colorado - Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Colorado State - Will Friend, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Georgia Southern - Chad Lunsford, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends

Houston - Todd Orlando - Defensive Coordinator

Indiana - Tom Allen, Defensive Coordinator

Iowa State - Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Louisiana Tech - Todd Fitch, Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers

LSU - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator

Miami (FL) - Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Michigan - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Missouri - Glen Elarbee, Offensive Line

Navy - Ivan Jasper, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Nebraska - Trent Bray, Linebackers

North Carolina - Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs

North Carolina State - Ryan Nielsen, Defensive Line

Oklahoma State - Mike Yurcich, Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Old Dominion - Brian Scott, Offensive Coordinator

Ole Miss - Matt Luke, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Ohio State - Kerry Coombs, Special Teams Coordinator/Cornerbacks

Penn State - Joe Moorhead, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Pitt - Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

South Carolina - Travaris Robinson, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs

Stanford - Mike Bloomgren, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Temple - Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Troy - Matt Moore, Co-Offensive Coordinator

UCF - Erik Chinander, Defensive Coordinator

USC - Clancy Pendergast, Defensive Coordinator

Wake Forest - Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Washington State - Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary

Western Kentucky - Tony Levine, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Special Teams Coordinator

Western Michigan - Kirk Ciarrocca, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

West Virginia - Tony Gibson, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Wisconsin - Justin Wilcox, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with CoachingSearch.com and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News, MLive.com, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to chris@coachingsearch.com.