List: The longest-tenured assistant coaches in FBS

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Tuesday July 04, 2017

The coaching profession is one with incredible turnover, but a handful of coaches been able to stick around in one place.

Whether by choice or not, most coaches and their families are moving around every few years. And the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

Only 23 of the 1,170 full-time assistants in FBS have been at their current school since 2005 (including new Coastal Carolina). That's 1.9 percent. This offseason saw several veterans at Oregon leave the school as part of staff changes, including Gary Campbell (1983), Don Pellum (1993), Steve Greatwood (2000) and John Neal (2003).

In 2017, there are 55 assistants entering at least their 10th straight season at a school. Here are the assistants with the longest active continuous tenures:

Bud Foster - Virginia Tech defensive coordinator / linebackers coach (1987)

Foster had worked with Frank Beamer since 1981, when Foster was a graduate assistant at Murray State. The two moved to Virginia Tech in 1987 and Foster became defensive coordinator in 1995. He was retained by head coach Justin Fuente and continues in that role.

Jerry Brown - Northwestern defensive backs / assistant head coach (1993)

Brown has seen a lot over 24 years at Northwestern, including three Big Ten championships, and watching Pat Fitzgerald rise from player to head coach.

Odell Haggins - Florida State defensive tackles / associate head coach (1994)

Haggins has spent his entire coaching career at his alma mater. He worked with tight ends and offensive line from 1994-95, before moving to the defensive line in 1996.

Mo Latimore - Kansas State interior defensive line coach (1994)

Latimore’s time at K-State dates back a decade before Bill Snyder, back to the 1970s as a player and coach, but he has been in his current role in with the Wildcats since 1994, developing four All-Americans.

Andy Hill - Missouri wide receivers / associate head coach (1996)

Hill is the longest-tenured coach on the Missouri staff, before Gary Pinkel arrived in 2001. Hill worked with receivers from 1996-2012 before moving to quarterbacks. He was retained by Barry Odom moved back to wide receivers.

Dale Jones - Appalachian State inside linebackers coach (1996)

Jones has be a part of Appalachian State’s three straight FCS national titles from 2005-07, as well as the transition to FBS.

Dale Pehrson - Navy defensive coordinator / defensive line coach (1996)

On a staff full of veteran coaches, Pehrson is the longest. He has worked under head coaches Charlie Weatherbie, Paul Johnson, and Ken Niumatalolo since 1996. He was promoted to interim defensive coordinator before the 2015 season and is now in the permanent role.

Charley Wiles - Virginia Tech defensive line coach (1996)

Wiles played under Frank Beamer at Murray State and has coached the Hokie defensive line since 1996. He added the duties of run game coordinator in 2013 and was retained by Fuente last year.

Jarrett Anderson - TCU offensive line coach

Cale Gundy - Oklahoma inside receivers / assistant head coach
Phil Parker - Iowa defensive coordinator / defensive backs coach

Reese Morgan - Iowa defensive line coach

Cornell Ford - Missouri running backs / assistant head coach
Dan Sharp - TCU defensive line coach

Ivin Jasper - Navy offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach
Steve Kaufusi - BYU defensive line coach
Danny O’Rourke - Navy slot backs coach

Adam Cushing - Northwestern offensive line coach

Tim Albin - Ohio offensive coordinator / running backs / assistant head coach
Jimmy Burrow - Ohio defensive coordinator / safeties / assistant head coach

Randy Bates - Northwestern linebackers coach
Matt MacPherson - Northwestern running backs coach
Morgan Scalley - Utah defensive coordinator / safeties coach

Lance Anderson - Stanford defensive coordinator / outside linebackers coach
Harlon Barnett - Michigan State co-defensive coordinator / defensive backs coach
Burton Burns - Alabama running backs / associate head coach
Justin Davis - Navy outside linebackers coach
Lawrence Dawsey - Florida State co-offensive coordinator / wide receivers coach
Dwayne Dixon - Ohio wide receivers coach
Angus McClure - UCLA defensive line coach
Ben Miller - Air Force running backs coach / special teams coordinator
Darrell Patterson - Rice linebackers / assistant head coach
Brian Scott - Old Dominion offensive coordinator / associate head coach
Mark Staten - Michigan State offensive line coach
Mike Thiessen - Air Force offensive coordinator / wide receivers coach
Mike Tressel - Michigan State co-defensive coordinator / linebackers coach
Rick Trickett - Florida State offensive line coach
Dave Warner - Michigan State co-offensive coordinator / running backs coach
Tucker Waugh - Army running backs coach
Matt Weikert - Air Force outside linebackers coach

Kenny Edenfield - Troy offensive coordinator
Mike Hankwitz - Northwestern defensive coordinator
Ashley Ingram - Navy offensive line coach / run game coordinator
Steve Johns - Navy inside linebackers coach
Derek Jones - Duke cornerbacks coach / assistant special teams coordinator
Mike Judge - Navy fullbacks coach
Marty Long - Northwestern defensive line coach
Mick McCall - Northwestern offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach
Derrick Nix - Ole Miss running backs coach
Lamar Owens - Georgia Tech slot backs / special teams coordinator
Al Preston - Georgia Tech wide receivers coach
Zac Roper - Duke offensive coordinator / associate head coach
Jeff Scott - Clemson co-offensive coordinator / wide receivers coach
Mike Sewak - Georgia Tech offensive line coach
Glenn Spencer - Oklahoma State defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

CoachingSearch’s 2017 offseason studies

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News,, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to