List: The length of tenure for every FCS head coach

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Friday July 07, 2017

Earlier this week, CoachingSearch listed the tenure length of every FBS head coach, and several people asked for an FCS list as well.

The FCS level has several coaches with longer tenures than anyone in FBS. Kirk Ferentz at Iowa is the veteran in FBS, hired in 1999. In FCS, eight current coaches were hired before that. In FBS, nearly half of head coaching have been hired in the last three years. In FCS, it's about 40 percent since 2015, but about 60 percent since 2014.

Here is when every FCS head coach was hired:

Jimmye Laycock (William & Mary)

Mike Ayers (Wofford)

Jim Parady (Marist)
Kevin Callahan (Monmouth)

Tim Murphy (Harvard)

John Stiegelmeier (South Dakota State)

Phil Estes (Brown)
Jerome Souers (Northern Arizona)

Sean McDonnell (New Hampshire)

Mark Farley (Northern Iowa)

Oliver Pough (South Carolina State)

Tom Gilmore (Holy Cross)

Jerry Schmitt (Duquesne)
Buddy Teevens (Dartmouth) (also 1987-91)

Jeff Voris (Butler)
Andy Cohen (Lehigh)
Chuck Priore (Stony Brook)
Jason Simpson (UT Martin)

Rick Chamberlin (Dayton)
Monte Coleman (Arkansas–Pine Bluff)

Tim Walsh (Cal Poly)
Brock Spack (Illinois State)
Rob Ambrose (Towson)

Joe Susan (Bucknell)
Bob Surace (Princeton)
Chris Villarrial? (Saint Francis)
Rod Reed (Tennessee State)

Rod Broadway (North Carolina A&T)
Earnest Collins Jr. (Northern Colorado)
Roger Hughes (Stetson)
Bobby Lamb (Mercer)

Larry Kennan (Incarnate Word)
Turner Gill (Liberty)
Mark Nofri (Sacred Heart)
Ron Roberts (Southeastern Louisiana)
Dawson Odums (Southern)
Vic Shealy (Houston Baptist)
Mark Speir (Western Carolina)
Tony Reno (Yale)

Mike Minter (Campbell)
David Archer (Cornell)
Paul Nichols (Davidson)
Carl Torbush (East Tennessee State)
Carroll McCray (Gardner–Webb)
Brian Bohannon (Kennesaw State)
Rob Tenyer (Morehead State)
Jay Thomas (Northwestern State)
Dale Lindsey (San Diego)

James Spady (Alabama A&M)
Greg Gattuso (Albany)
Steve Campbell (Central Arkansas)
Pete Rossomando (Central Connecticut)
Dan Hunt (Colgate)
Rick Fox (Drake)
Kim Dameron (Eastern Illinois)
Rob Sgarlata (Georgetown)
Broderick Fobbs (Grambling State)
Connell Maynor (Hampton)
John Grass (Jacksonville State)
Rick Comegy (Mississippi Valley State)
Jerry Mack (North Carolina Central)
Kyle Schweigert (North Dakota)
Chris Klieman (North Dakota State)
Jim Fleming (Rhode Island)
John Banaszak (Robert Morris)
Jody Sears (Sacramento State)
K.C. Keeler (Sam Houston State)
Tom Matukewicz (Southeast Missouri State)
Clint Conque (Stephen F. Austin)
Dave Cecchini (Valparaiso)
Jay Hill (Weber State)

Brian Jenkins (Alabama State)
Terry Sims (Bethune-Cookman)
Al Bagnoli (Columbia)
Kenny Carter (Delaware State)
Alex Wood (Florida A&M)
Dave Steckel (Missouri State)
Bob Stitt (Montana)
Mitch Stewart (Murray State)
Tim Rebowe (Nicholls State)
Latrell Scott (Norfolk State)
Ray Priore (Penn)
Bruce Barnum (Portland State)
Willie Simmons (Prairie View A&M)
Chris Hatcher (Samford)
Scott Wachenheim (VMI)
Jason Houghtailing (Wagner)
Bo Pelini (Youngstown State)

Fred McNair (Alcorn State)
Will Healy (Austin Peay)
Brent Thompson (The Citadel)
Mark Elder (Eastern Kentucky)
Andrew Breiner (Fordham)
Tony Hughes (Jackson State)
Ian Shields (Jacksonville)
Mike Houston (James Madison)
Joe Harasymiak (Maine)
Lance Guidry (McNeese State)
Jeff Choate (Montana State)
Fred Farrier (Morgan State)
Erik Raeburn (Savannah State)
Bob Nielson (South Dakota)
Nick Hill (Southern Illinois)
Demario Warren (Southern Utah)
Marcus Satterfield (Tennessee Tech)
Michael Haywood (Texas Southern)
Charlie Fisher (Western Illinois)

Adam Dorrel (Abilene Christian)
James Perry (Bryant)
Mark Tucker (Charleston Southern)
Tom Arth (Chattanooga)
Danny Rocco (Delaware)
Aaron Best (Eastern Washington)
Curt Cignetti (Elon)
Clay Hendrix (Furman)
Mike London (Howard)
Rob Phenicle (Idaho State)
Curt Mallory (Indiana State)
John Garrett (Lafayette)
Mike Schultz (Lamar)
Tommy Spangler (Presbyterian)
Russ Huesman (Richmond)
Dan Hawkins (UC Davis)
Mark Ferrante (Villanova)

CoachingSearch’s 2017 offseason studies

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News,, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to