Every Big Ten coaching staff change this offseason

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Tuesday June 13, 2017

With fall camp and the season just a few months away, here’s a recap of the more than 40 coaching changes in the Big Ten this offseason:

Illinois - 1 change

LB coach Tim McGarigle (Packers)

S coach Donnie Abraham (IMG Academy DC)

Indiana - 6 changes (5 new coaches)

HC Kevin Wilson (resigned)
OC Kevin Johns (not retained)
QB coach Shawn Watson (Pitt)
RB coach Deland McCullough (USC)
OL coach Greg Frey (Michigan)
TE coach James Patton (not retained)

HC Tom Allen (promoted from DC)
OC Mike DeBord (Tennessee OC)
QB coach Nick Sheridan (Central Michigan RB coach)
RB coach Mike Hart (Syracuse RB coach)
WR coach Grant Heard (Ole Miss WR coach)
OL coach Daren Hiller (Houston OL coach)

Iowa - 3 changes

OC Greg Davis (retired)
WR coach Bobby Kennedy (not retained)
RB coach Chris White (not retained)

QB coach Ken O’Keefe (former Dolphins analyst)
WR coach Kelton Copeland (NIU WR coach)
OL coach Tim Polasek (NDSU OC)

Maryland - 2 changes

OL coach Dave Borbely (reassigned)
DL coach Mike London (Howard head coach)

OL coach Tyler Bowen (Fordham OC)
DL coach Jimmy Brumbaugh (Kentucky DL coach)

Michigan - 2 changes

QB / RB coach Jedd Fisch (UCLA)
RB coach Tyrone Wheatley (Jaguars)

Passing game coordinator Pep Hamilton (Browns QB coach)
TE / T coach Greg Frey (Indiana OL coach)

Michigan State - No changes

Minnesota - 10 changes

OUT: (not retained)
HC Tracy Claeys
OC Jay Johnson
DC Jay Sawvel
RB coach Pat Poore
WR coach Brian Anderson
H-backs coach Rob Reeves
OL coach Bart Miller
DL coach Jeff Phelps
LB coach Mike Sherels
DB coach Dan O’Brien

HC P.J. Fleck (WMU HC)
OC Kirk Ciarrocca (WMU OC)
DC Robb Smith (Arkansas DC)
RB coach Kenni Burns (WMU RB coach)
WR coach Matt Simon (WMU WR coach)
OL coach Ed Warinner (Ohio State OC)
TE / T coach Brian Callahan (WMU OL coach)
DL coach Bryce Paup (Northern Iowa DL coach)
DB coach Maurice Linguist (Mississippi State S coach)
ST coordinator Rob Wenger (WMU ST coordinator)

Nebraska - 3 changes

DC Mark Banker (not retained)
DB coach Brian Stewart (Rice DC)
ST coordinator Bruce Read (not retained)

DC Bob Diaco (former UConn head coach)
CB coach Donte Williams (Arizona CB coach)
S coach Bob Elliott (Notre Dame special assistant)

Northwestern - No changes

Northwestern has the same staff for seven straight years

Ohio State - 3 changes

OC Ed Warinner (Minnesota OL coach)
Co-DC Luke Fickell (Cincinnati HC)
QB coach Tim Beck (Texas OC)

OC Kevin Wilson (former Indiana HC)
QB coach Ryan Day (former 49ers QB coach)
LB coach Billy Davis (promoted from analyst)

Penn State - No changes

Purdue - 10 changes

OUT: (not retained)
HC Darrell Hazell
OC Terry Malone
DC Ross Els
Co-DC Marcus Freeman
QB coach Tim Lester
RB coach DeAndre Smith
WR coach Gerad Parker
OL coach Darrell Funk
DL coach Randy Melvin
DB coach Taver Johnson

HC Jeff Brohm (WKU HC)
Co-OC Brian Brohm (WKU co-OC)
Co-OC Tony Levine (WKU co-OC)
Co-DC Nick Holt (WKU DC)
Co-DC Anthony Poindexter (former UConn DC)
RB coach Chris Barclay (WKU RB coach)
WR coach JaMarcus Shephard (Washington St. WR coach)
OL coach Dale Williams (WKU OL coach)
DL coach Reggie Johnson (WKU DL coach)
CB Derrick Jackson (Wake Forest CB coach)

Rutgers - 3 changes

OC Drew Mehringer (Texas WR coach)
WR coach Zak Kuhr (Texas State OC)
DB coach Aaron Henry (NC State S coach)

OC Jerry Kill (former Minnesota HC)
RB coach Lester Erb (former Nevada WR coach)
CB coach Henry Baker (Delaware CB coach)

Wisconsin - 1 change

DC Justin Wilcox (Cal HC)

ILB coach Bob Bostad (NIU TE coach)


Every ACC change

Every Big 12 change

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with CoachingSearch.com and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News, MLive.com, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to chris@coachingsearch.com.

Recent Articles

Related Articles