18 schools have allowed fewer than 5.5 yards per play for 4 straight years

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Thursday March 23, 2017

Some takeaways:

- All four 2016 College Football Playoff teams are in this group.

- 8 of these schools have also allowed fewer than 25 points per game for four straight years: Alabama, Clemson, Florida, Louisville, LSU, Ohio State, Washington, Wisconsin.

- 5 of these schools will have a new defensive play-caller in 2017: Baylor (Phil Snow), Florida (Randy Shannon), Louisville (Peter Sirmon), Ohio State (Greg Schiano alone), Wisconsin (Jim Leonhard).

- Of the play-callers with new jobs in 2017, Geoff Collins became Florida head coach, Todd Grantham became Mississippi State defensive coordinator, and Justin Wilcox became Cal head coach.

- 5 play-callers were involved with multiple teams on this list: Pete Kwiatkowski, Todd Grantham, Dave Aranda, D.J. Durkin and Justin Wilcox.

- Only 4 of these schools had the same play-caller for all four years and will again in 2017: Clemson, Iowa, Northwestern and San Diego State.

- 5 of these teams won their conference title in 2016: Alabama, Clemson, Penn State, San Diego State and Washington.

- Only UCLA and Utah State missed a bowl game in 2016.

- Alabama’s, LSU’s and and Ohio State’s streaks go back to at least 1999, the furthest back available.

- The only schools to go four straight years under 5 yards per play in four straight years are Alabama, Louisville and Wisconsin.

See CoachingSearch’s offseason studies here

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with CoachingSearch.com and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News, MLive.com, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to chris@coachingsearch.com.