Chart: 10 schools have allowed fewer than 25 ppg for 4 straight years

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Tuesday March 21, 2017

Which FBS schools have consistently produced the best defenses? The bar for a good defensive performance has changed in today’s game. These schools have allowed fewer than 25 points per game for four straight years. 

Some takeaways

- All of these teams made a bowl game in all four years, except for 2013 Florida. It also includes the three College Football Playoff national champions.

- 5 of these schools will have a new defensive play-caller in 2017: Florida (Randy Shannon), Houston (Mark D’Onofrio), Louisville (Peter Sirmon), Ohio State (Greg Schiano alone) and Wisconsin (Jim Leonhard).

- Of the 5 play-callers who moved jobs, Geoff Collins became Temple head coach, Todd Orlando became Texas DC, Todd Grantham became Mississippi State DC, Luke Fickell became Cincinnati head coach, and Justin Wilcox became Cal head coach.

- Dave Aranda is on this list twice, running Wisconsin’s D from 2013-15 and then LSU last year.

- Justin Wilcox ran Washington’s D in 2013 and Wisconsin’s in 2016, sandwiched around two years at USC. Now he’s the Cal head coach.

- Ohio State’s streak actually goes back all the way to 1989, per College Football Reference. LSU’s streak goes to 1999, Alabama’s to 2004 and Florida’s to 2008.

- Alabama is the only one to allow fewer than 20 ppg each year in this stretch, and that streak goes all the way back to 2008.

- Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State and Washington have also scored at least 30 ppg in four straight years.

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News,, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to