2014 Broyles Award nominees revealed

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Wednesday November 26, 2014

The Rotary Club of Little Rock has released its nominees of the Broyles Award, given to the nation’s top assistant coach.

In total, 40 coaches have been nominated. Head coaches can submit one potential nominee from their staff. Five finalists will be named on Dec. 1, and the winner will be announced at the banquet at the Marriott Hotel on Dec. 9. The award was established in 1996.

Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi won the award last season. In total, 20 current FBS head coaches have won or been named a finalist for the award, including three of the past six winners (Kevin Wilson, Gus Malzahn and Bob Diaco).

CoachingSearch listed its leaders for the award earlier this week. Here is the full list of nominees.

Alabama - Lane Kiffin, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach

Appalachian State - Dwayne Ledford, co-offensive coordinator / offensive line coach

Arizona - Jeff Casteel, defensive doordinator / linebackers coach

Arkansas - Robb Smith, defensive coordinator / defensive backs coach

Arkansas State - Walt Bell, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks / assistant head coach

Boise State - Mike Sanford, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach

Boston College - Don Brown, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

BYU - Nick Howell, defensive coordinator / defensive backs coach

Clemson - Brent Venables, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

Colorado State - Dave Baldwin, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach

Duke - John Latina, run game coordinator / offensive line / assistant head coach

ECU - Lincoln Riley, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks / assistant head coach

FIU - Josh Conklin, defensive coordinator

Georgia Southern - Doug Ruse, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach

Louisiana-Lafayette - Marquase Lovings, running backs coach

Louisiana Tech - Manny Diaz, defensive coordinator

Louisville - Todd Grantham, defensive coordinator / outside linebackers coach

Memphis - James Shibest, tight ends coach / special teams coordinator

Miami - Mark D'Onofrio, defensive coordinator / assistant head coach

Michigan - Greg Mattison, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

Michigan State - Dave Warner, co-offensive coordinator / running backs coach

Minnesota - Tracy Claeys, defensive coordinator / associate head coach

Mississippi State - Geoff Collins, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

Missouri - Dave Steckel, defensive coordinator / linebackers / associate head coach

NC State - Desmond Kitchings, running backs coach / recruiting coordinator

Ohio State - Tom Herman, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach

Ole Miss - Dave Wommack, defensive coordinator / safeties coach

Oregon - Scott Frost, offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach 

Penn State - Bob Shoop, defensive coordinator / safeties coach

Stanford - Lance Anderson, defensive coordinator / outside linebackers coach

TCU - Doug Meacham, co-offensive coordinator / inside receivers coach

Temple - Phil Snow, defensive coordinator

UCF - Brent Key, offensive line coach / assistant head coach of offense / recruiting coordinator

UCLA - Noel Mazzone, offensive coordinator

Utah - Kalani Sitake, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

Utah State - Todd Orlando, defensive coordinator / safeties coach

UTSA - Neal Neathery, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

West Virginia - Tony Gibson, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

Western Michigan - Kirk Ciarrocca, offensive coordinator

Wisconsin – Dave Aranda, defensive coordinator / linebackers coach

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with CoachingSearch.com and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News, MLive.com, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to chris@coachingsearch.com.