2015 Broyles Award Nominees revealed

Posted by: Chris Vannini on Wednesday November 25, 2015

The Rotary Club of Little Rock has released its nominees for the Broyles Award, given to the nation’s top assistant coach.

In total, 34 coaches have been nominated. Head coaches can submit one potential nominee from their staff. Five finalists will be named on Nov. 30, and the winner will be announced at the banquet at the Marriott Hotel on Dec. 8. The award was established in 1996.

Tom Herman won the award last season as Ohio State’s offensive coordinator. Since the award’s inception in 1996, more than 20 percent of finalists have become head coaches, including five of the past seven winners (Kevin Wilson, Gus Malzahn, Bob Diaco, Pat Narduzzi and Herman). 

Here are this year’s nominees:

Alabama - Kirby Smart, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers

Arkansas - Dan Enos, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Arkansas State - Joe Cauthen, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Baylor - Kendal Briles, Offensive Coordinator

Boston College - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Bowling Green - Sean Lewis, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Central Michigan - Greg Colby, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Clemson - Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator, Linebackers

Colorado State - Will Friend, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Florida - Geoff Collins, Defensive Coordinator

Florida State - Charles Kelly, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs

Georgia Southern - Dell McGee, Running Backs

Georgia State - Jesse Minter, Defensive Coordinator

Houston - Todd Orlando, Defensive Coordinator

Indiana - Greg Frey, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Iowa - Greg Davis, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach

Louisiana Tech - Tony Petersen, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Marshall - Chuck Heater, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs

Memphis - Brad Cornelsen, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Michigan - Tim Drevno, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Mississippi State - Brian Johnson, Quarterbacks

Navy - Dale Pehrson, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line

NC State - Ryan Nielsen, Defensive Line

North Carolina - Gene Chizik, Defensive Coordinator

Ole Miss - Dan Werner, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Oklahoma - Lincoln Riley, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

South Florida - Danny Hope, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Run Game

Temple - Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator

Toledo - Jon Heacock, Defensive Coordinator

UCLA - Noel Mazzone, Offensive Coordinator

USC - Tee Martin, WR/Pass Game Coordinator

Utah State - Dave Ungerer, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs

Washington State - Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary

Wisconsin - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator

Chris Vannini is in his fifth year with CoachingSearch.com and serves as its managing editor. He has previously written for the Detroit Free Press, The Oakland Press, The State News, MLive.com, 247Sports and SB Nation.  A graduate of Michigan State University, Chris now lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Be sure to follow @coachingsearch and send emails to chris@coachingsearch.com.